[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 561: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 611: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
XRAY - Model racing cars • View topic - Big 808 Shock Sealing problem

XRAY - Model racing cars

It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2024 05:21:53

All times are UTC + 2 hours

Post subject: Big 808 Shock Sealing problem
PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2010 13:21:49 

Hi all,

I have been using the 2010 808 for a few months now and ever since i got the kit i cant seem to stop the shocks from leaking oil.

Has anyone else had this problem?
Its leaking from the shock caps because i did the LOSI shock cap mod to my xray ones which is to drill a small hole in the top of the cap and run foam between the bladder and the cap to have a more consistant rebound. But they were leaking before i made this mod.

What happens is when the shocks have a big enough impact on the shafts the bladder pops itself out of place and oil escapes from the body and goes into the shock cap which then leaks out of the top.
All 4 of my shocks are like this and its causing loss of oil, as well as very inconsistant rebound. Its giving me the s**ts. I have spent hrs trying to fix this. I definatley know how to build a shock but from what i have read no one else has had these problems?

From what i can gather, the caps arent coming down the body far enough to create a tight seal between the cap-bladder-body. Therefore the bladder slips out of its positions and lets oil pass.
Ive done everything i can to fix this problem and im convinced i can't. Ive put a set of Hong Nor big bores on and havent looked back.